Group Leader

Panagiotis L. Kastritis, Jun.-Prof. Dr.
Specialist in Cryo-Electron Microscopy and Computational Structural Biology
2008 Diploma Biology, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
2012 Ph.D. in Chemistry, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
2012-2013 Postdoc Bijvoet Center for Biomolecular Research, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
2013-2018 Postdoc European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg, Germany
since August 2018 Jun.-Prof., Center for Innovation Competence HALOmem, Halle, Germany
phone: +49 345 5524983, e-mail:

Staff Scientists

Dr. Fotios Kyrilis, Ph.D.
Chief Biochemist/Laboratory Officer in Charge, Specialist in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
phone: +49 345 5524984, e-mail:
Dr. Farzad Hamdi, Ph.D.
Cryo-EM Engineer, Specialist in Electron Microscope Operation
phone: +49 345 5524984, e-mail:


Dr. Annette Meister, PD, Ph.D.
Cryo-EM Application Specialist, Specialist in Cryo-Electron Microscopy and Physical Chemistry of Membranes
phone: +49 345 5525826, e-mail:
Dr. Dmitry A. Semchonok, Ph.D.
Cryo-EM and Image Processing Specialist
phone: +49 345 5524985, e-mail:
Dr. Christian Tüting, Ph.D.
Biochemist & Computational Structural Biologist
phone: +49 345 5524985, e-mail:
Dr. Jaydeep Belapure, Ph.D.
Image processing Specialist, Machine Learning for Cryo-EM
phone: +49 345 5524985, e-mail:

Ph.D. Candidates

Ioannis Skalidis, M.Sc. Systems Biology
Biochemistry and Cryo-EM Scientist
phone: +49 345 5524986, e-mail:
Lisa Schmidt, M.Sc. Molecular Biology
Biochemist/Molecular Biologist
phone: +49 345 5524986, e-mail:
Kevin Janson, M.Sc. Biology
Membrane Biophysicist
phone: +49 345 5524986, e-mail:
Marija Sorokina, M.Sc. Chemistry
Computational Chemist
phone: +49 345 5524986, e-mail:
Toni Träger, M.Sc. Biochemistry
phone: +49 345 5524986, e-mail:

M.Sc. Students & Scientific Assistants

Noah Binay, Biochemistry
Molecular Biologist
phone: +49 345 5524986, e-mail:


Felix Wiebe, M.Sc. Biochemistry – Ph. D. student at the Feller Group
Johannes Müller, M.Sc. Biochemistry – Ph.D. student at the Pietzsch Group
Anna Eggers, Biochemistry
Wiebke Schultze, B.Sc. Biochemistry
Paola Modicano, M.Sc. Biology – Project Coordinator at Medpace
Dr. Tommy Hofmann, Ph.D. Lipidomics – Scientist at IDT Biologica