Considering the strategy and policy of the ERZ, a managing committee is elected every 4 years by the general assembly. An international board of advisers supports the managing committee. Together with the general assembly both organs set the research and events of the society.

Executive Board

Prof. Dr. Ute Engel (Chairman and Director)
Professorship of Medieval Art History at Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Prof. Dr. Klaus Krüger (Vice-Chairman)
Director of Department of Auxiliary Science of History at Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Oliver Ritter, MA (Treasurer)
Medieval Art History at Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Prof. Dr. Jörg Ulrich
Professorship of Church History at Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg

Dr. Gabriele Köster 
Museum Director of  Magdeburg

Board Member from the Vereinigten Domstifter zu Naumburg, Merseburg und des Kollegiatstifts Zeitz
represented by Dr. Holger Kunde

Prof. Dr. Kai Kappel
Professur für Geschichte der Architektur und des Städtebaus an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Board Member from the Rektorat of the Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
represented by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Paul

International Board of Advisors

Prof. Dr. Rainer Atzbach
School of Culture and Society – Department of Archeology and Heritage Studies, Aarhus Univerity

Prof. Dr. Klaus Gereon Beuckers
Kunsthistorisches Institut, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Prof. Dr. Lex Bosman
Architectuurgeschiedenis op de Faculteit der Geesteswetenschappen, Universiteit van Amsterdam

Prof. Dr. Jarosław Jarzewicz
Instytut Historii Sztuki, Uniwersytet Adama Mickiewicza Poznań

Prof. Ph.D. Jacqueline Jung
Department of the History of Art, Yale University

Prof. Dr. Bruno Klein
Institut für Kunst- und Musikwissenschaft, Technische Universität Dresden

John McNeill, M.A.
British Archaeological Association

Prof. Dr. Dany Sandron
Institut d`Art et d`Archéologie, Université de Paris-Sorbonne/ Centre André Chastel

Prof. Dr. Petr Sommer
Centrum medievistických studií Univerzity Karlovy a Akademie vĕd České republiky, Praha/ Filosofický ústav AV ČR Praha, v.v.i.

Prof. Dr. Harald Wolter von dem Knesebeck
Kunsthistorisches Institut, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

Prof. Dr. Marc von der Höh
Historisches Institut, Universität Rostock

Prof. Dr. Susanne Wittekind
Kunsthistorisches Institut, Universität zu Köln

Regional Board of Advisors

Since 2010 the EZz cooperates with a regional board which is though not enshrined bylaw. Its aim is help mutually with bureaucratic issues such as applications and communication, to advise local communities how to deal with its cultural heritage and momument preservation institutions etc. On the other hand, definite projects or exhibitions – f.e. with schools or societies – shall be initiated and promoted in order to reach a public sense of our regional heritage.

The board consists of the adminitrative district Saalekreis, the city of Merseburg, the community of Schkopau as well as the bank Saalesparkasse. Further members are welcome.

Der internationale Beirat im Kapitelgarten