Members

Doctoral students representatives: Anika Wurl and Christian Lauer

Bhatia, Twinkle – Biochemistry (Ott, MLU)

Research topic:
Mechanism of amyloid aggregation of the parathyroid hormone in complex environment

Methods:
1) Single Molecule Fluorescence Spectroscopy
2) ThT assays

Cai, Yue – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Strain and stress-sensitive probes in polymers and proteins

Methods:
1) Polymer synthesis
2) Bergman cyclization
3) DSC, GPC, NMR

Contact: yue.cai@chemie.uni-halle.de

Camilles, Maria – Exp. physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic: NMR investigations of concentrated solutions of eye-lens crystallins

Method: Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: maria.camilles@physik.uni-halle.de

Hasan, Nazmul – Physical chemistry (Kreßler, MLU)

Research topic: Polymer crystallisation at the air-water interface

Method:
IRRAS

Contact: nazmul.hasan@chemie.uni-halle.de

Hassan, Alaa – Exp. physics (Tress, UL)

Research topic: Broadband dielectric spectroscopy investigation of individual polymeric molecules

Method:
Dielectric spectroscopy

Contact: alaa.hassan@uni-leipzig.de

Jurack, Hannes – Exp. Physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic:
R1rho and CODEX experiments to study protein motions in crystals via NMR

Method:
Solid state NMR (R1rho spectroscopy)

Contact: hannes.jurack@physik.uni-halle.de

Kahl, Robert – Exp. physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Directional crystallisation of semiconducting homo-polymers and novel donor-acceptor diblock copolymers

Method:
x-Ray scattering (SAXS)

Contact: robert.kahl@physik.uni-halle.de

Korn, Alexander – Experimental physics (Huster, UL)

Research topic: 
Amyloid formation

Method:
Solid-state NMR

Contact: alexander.korn@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Lauer, Christian – Theor. Physics (Paul, MLU)

Research topic: Intra- and intermolecular structure formation in the presence of specific interactions

Method:
Monte Carlo Simulations (Stochastic Approximation Monte Carlo)

Contact: christian.lauer@physik.uni-halle.de

Liu, Tonghua – Exp. Physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Effects of topological constraints in polymer melts on crystallization and structure formation

Methods:
1) Small Angle X-ray Scattering (SAXS)
2) Mechanical measurements

Contact: tonghua.liu@physik.uni-halle.de

Löser, Lucas – Exp. physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic: NMR investigations of multicomponent elastomers and gels

Method:
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR, FID, DQ)

Contact: lucas.loeser@physik.uni-halle.de

Müller, Fabio – Theor. physics (Janke, UL)

Research topic: Non-flat multi canonical simulations for polymer adsorption and aggregation

Method:
Monte Carlo Simulations

Contact: fmueller@itp.uni-leipzig.de

Neudorf, Malte – Exp. physics (Balbach, MLU)

Research topic: Organization and interactions of eye-lens crystallins

Methods:
1) NMR
2) Protein purification
3) Fluorescence spectroscopy
4) Circular dichroism

Contact: malte.neudorf@physik.uni-halle.de

Paschold, André – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Photoswitchable aggregating Proteins and Peptids

Methods:
1) Organic synthesis
2) Chromatography

Contact: andre.paschold@chemie.uni-halle.de

Schäfer, Mareen – Experimental physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic: 
NMR investigations in sem icrystalline polymers

Method:
Solid-state Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: mareen.schaefer@physik.uni-halle.de

Schreck, Erik – Experimental physics (Widdra, MLU)

Research topic: 
Structure determination for Polythiophene molecules on ideal surfaces

Method:
Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM)

Contact: erik.schreck@physik.uni-halle.de

Schulz, Martha – Experimental physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: 
Effects of topological constraints in polymer melts on crystallization and structure formation

Methods:
1) Small Angle X-ray Scattering (SAXS)
2) Differential Scanning Calorimetry / Flash-DSC

Contact: martha.schulz@physik.uni-halle.de

Sen, Newton – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Modification and Modulation of Aggregating Proteins with Molecules, Membranes and Nanoparticles.

Methods:
1) Polymer synthesis
2) Reversible addition-fragmentation chain transfer (RAFT) polymerization
3) NMR, Fluorescence spectroscopy, circular dichroism
4) Transmission electron microscopy (TEM)

Contact: newton.sen@chemie.uni-halle.de

Sydow, Stephan – Physics (Cichos, UL)

Research topic: Interactions of single polymer chains and Amyloid fibrils in a thermophoretic trap

Methods:
1) Fluorescence Spectroscopy
2) Thermophoretic Trapping

Contact: stephan.sydow@physik.uni-leipzig.de

Tariq, Muhammad – Exp. physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Interface induced crystallization in polymer thin films

Method:
Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)

Contact: muhammad.tariq@physik.uni-halle.de

Tsirigoni, Anna-Maria – Biochemistry (Blank, MPIKG)

Research topic: Force-induced α-β transitions in coiled coil structures

Methods:
1) Single molecule force spectroscopy (AFM)
2) Peptide synthesis
3) Rheology

Contact: anna-maria.tsirigoni@mpikg.mpg.de

van Niekerk, Marthinus – Experimental physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Substrate-induced molecular order and nucleation in polymer thin films

Method:
Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)

Contact: marthinus.van-niekerk@physik.uni-halle.de

Voigt, Bruno – Experimental physics (Balbach, MLU)

Research topic: NMR investigations of the self-organization and dynamics of amyloid fibrils

Method:
Solution Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: bruno.voigt@physik.uni-halle.de

Wägele, Jana – Experimental physics (Ott, MLU)

Research topic: Mechanisms of early amyloid formation and the confining influence of macromolecular crowding

Method:
Single Molecule Fluorescence Spectroscopy

Contact: jana.waegele@physik.uni-halle.de

Wurl, Anika – Exp. physics (Mendes Ferreira, MLU)

Research topic: Crystalization of polymer chains under anisotropic confinement in liquid crystals

Method:
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: anika.wurl@physik.uni-halle.de

Yu, Qiang – Exp. physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Understanding and Controlling the Crystallization and Mechanical Properties of Biopolymers

Methods:
1) Small Angle X-Ray Scattering (SAXS)
2) Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC)
3) Rheology

Contact: qiang.yu@physik.uni-halle.de