Members

Doctoral students representatives: Anika Wurl and Christian Lauer

Abbasi, Mozhdeh – Experimental physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic:
NMR investigation of polymer nanocomposites

Method:
Solid-state Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Belau, Sebastian – Experimental physics (Seidel, UL)

Research topic:
Nanomechanical investigation of polymer folding

Method:
Magnetic Tweezers

Bhatia, Twinkle – Biochemistry (Ott, MLU)

Research topic:
Mechanism of amyloid aggregation of the parathyroid hormone in complex environment

Methods:
1) Single Molecule Fluorescence Spectroscopy
2) ThT assays

Bin Anuar, Mohd Afiq – Experimental physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Effect of topological constraints in polymer melts on crystallization and structure formation

Method:
Solid-state Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Cai, Yue – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Strain and stress-sensitive probes in polymers and proteins

Methods:
1) Polymer synthesis
2) Bergman cyclization
3) DSC, GPC, NMR

Contact: yue.cai@chemie.uni-halle.de

Camilles, Maria – Experimental physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic: NMR investigations of concentrated solutions of eye-lens crystallins

Method: Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: maria.camilles@physik.uni-halle.de

Hasan, Nazmul – Physical chemistry (Kreßler, MLU)

Research topic: Polymer crystallisation at the air-water interface

Method:
IRRAS

Contact: nazmul.hasan@chemie.uni-halle.de

Hassan, Alaa – Experimental physics (Tress, UL)

Research topic: Broadband dielectric spectroscopy investigation of individual polymeric molecules

Method:
Dielectric spectroscopy

Contact: alaa.hassan@uni-leipzig.de

Jurack, Hannes – Experimental physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic:
R and CODEX experiments to study protein motions in crystals via NMR

Method:
Solid state NMR (R spectroscopy)

Contact: hannes.jurack@physik.uni-halle.de

Kahl, Robert – Experimental physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Directional crystallisation of semiconducting homo-polymers and novel donor-acceptor diblock copolymers

Method:
x-Ray scattering (SAXS)

Contact: robert.kahl@physik.uni-halle.de

Kawa, Sebastian – Physical chemistry (Warneke, UL)

Research topic: Molecular ion deposition for the generation of peptide and polymer surface layers

Methods:
mass spectrometry, ion soft-landing

Contact: sebastian.kawa@uni-leipzig.de

Korn, Alexander – Experimental physics (Huster, UL)

Research topic: Amyloid formation

Method:
Solid-state NMR

Contact: alexander.korn@medizin.uni-leipzig.de

Kunze, Thomas– Theoretical chemistry (Sebastiani, MLU)

Research topic: Computer Simulations of Solvated Molecules

Method:
Molecular Dynamics Simulations

Contact: thomas.kunze@chemie.uni-halle.de

Lauer, Christian – Theoretical physics (Paul, MLU)

Research topic: Intra- and intermolecular structure formation in the presence of specific interactions

Method:
Monte Carlo Simulations (Stochastic Approximation Monte Carlo)

Contact: christian.lauer@physik.uni-halle.de

Liu, Tonghua – Experimental physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Effects of topological constraints in polymer melts on crystallization and structure formation

Methods:
1) Small Angle X-ray Scattering (SAXS)
2) Mechanical measurements

Contact: tonghua.liu@physik.uni-halle.de

Löser, Lucas – Experimental physics (Saalwächter, MLU)

Research topic: NMR investigations of multicomponent elastomers and gels

Method:
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR, FID, DQ)

Contact: lucas.loeser@physik.uni-halle.de

Müller, Fabio – Theoretical physics (Janke, UL)

Research topic: Non-flat multi canonical simulations for polymer adsorption and aggregation

Method:
Monte Carlo Simulations

Contact: fmueller@itp.uni-leipzig.de

Or, Wing-Kit – Experimental physics (Tress, UL)

Research topic: Crystallization of individualized polymer chains

Method:
Dielectric spectroscopy

Contact: wing_kit.or@uni-leipzig.de

Neudorf, Malte – Experimental physics (Balbach, MLU)

Research topic: Organization and interactions of eye-lens crystallins

Methods:
1) NMR
2) Protein purification
3) Fluorescence spectroscopy
4) Circular dichroism

Contact: malte.neudorf@physik.uni-halle.de

Paschold, André – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Photoswitchable aggregating Proteins and Peptids

Methods:
1) Organic synthesis
2) Chromatography

Contact: andre.paschold@chemie.uni-halle.de

Rohmer, Matthias – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Secondary structure, assembly and cooperativity in dynamic supramolecular polymers

Methods:
1) Organic synthesis
2) Cicular Dichroism (CD) spectroscopy

Contact: matthias.rohmer@chemie.uni-halle.de

Schreck, Erik – Experimental physics (Widdra, MLU)

Research topic: Structure determination for Polythiophene molecules on ideal surfaces

Method:
Scanning Tunneling Microscopy (STM)

Contact: erik.schreck@physik.uni-halle.de

Sen, Newton – Chemistry (Binder, MLU)

Research topic: Modification and Modulation of Aggregating Proteins with Molecules, Membranes and Nanoparticles.

Methods:
1) Polymer synthesis
2) Reversible addition-fragmentation chain transfer (RAFT) polymerization
3) NMR, Fluorescence spectroscopy, circular dichroism
4) Transmission electron microscopy (TEM)

Contact: newton.sen@chemie.uni-halle.de

Sydow, Stephan – Experimental physics (Cichos, UL)

Research topic: Interactions of single polymer chains and Amyloid fibrils in a thermophoretic trap

Methods:
1) Fluorescence Spectroscopy
2) Thermophoretic Trapping

Contact: stephan.sydow@physik.uni-leipzig.de

Tsirigoni, Anna-Maria – Biochemistry (Blank, MPIKG)

Research topic: Force-induced α-β transitions in coiled coil structures

Methods:
1) Single molecule force spectroscopy (AFM)
2) Peptide synthesis
3) Rheology

Contact: anna-maria.tsirigoni@mpikg.mpg.de

van Niekerk, Marthinus – Experimental physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Substrate-induced molecular order and nucleation in polymer thin films

Method:
Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)

Contact: marthinus.van-niekerk@physik.uni-halle.de

Voigt, Bruno – Experimental physics (Balbach, MLU)

Research topic: NMR investigations of the self-organization and dynamics of amyloid fibrils

Method:
Solution Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: bruno.voigt@physik.uni-halle.de

Wägele, Jana – Experimental physics (Ott, MLU)

Research topic: Mechanisms of early amyloid formation and the confining influence of macromolecular crowding

Method:
Single Molecule Fluorescence Spectroscopy

Contact: jana.waegele@physik.uni-halle.de

Wurl, Anika – Experimental physics (Mendes Ferreira, MLU)

Research topic: Crystalization of polymer chains under anisotropic confinement in liquid crystals

Method:
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

Contact: anika.wurl@physik.uni-halle.de

Yu, Qiang – Experimental physics (Thurn-Albrecht, MLU)

Research topic: Understanding and Controlling the Crystallization and Mechanical Properties of Biopolymers

Methods:
1) Small Angle X-Ray Scattering (SAXS)
2) Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC)
3) Rheology

Contact: qiang.yu@physik.uni-halle.de